On 2AM’s “Unofficial” Disbandment

W020141024511375546558

Dumbstruck.

That was my reaction when I read the headlines.

Must be a rumor.

That was my initial thought.

And, indeed, JYP Ent refuted the claim that they have disbanded even though the members have gone to separate agencies for solo activities.

Still..I’m saddened since I have been stanning these boys since Can’t Let You Go Even If I Die. Though you may not see me spazzing and all, but I always make sure I know what they’ve been doing, checking their stages, and buying their albums. I also went to their concert once.

The members then posted their thoughts on this..and they said 2AM would still be there…that someday, they would still release something as a group.

I, too, believe that “disbandement” (unofficial or official) doesn’t always mean that the members would start distancing from each other. Watching them for 5 years or so, I believe these boys would stay friends, as 2AM or not…..

However, after the news started to sink in…I kinda disappointed, mostly towards JYPE… “someday” “perhaps” I don’t like a vague promise as it sounds empty..

Dear JYPE,
I know perfectly well that despite the members being in different agencies, it’s possible to continue group activities, but they need a group contract to bind them as a group, too.

You can’t say “they would continue activities as a group”, “they are not disbanding”…but you didn’t renew their contract as a group or give them new contract with their individual agencies that ensures 2AM would still be there. That, for me, as good as disband them ㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠ

Please at least give them a contract or whatever that legally bind them as a group, not just a statement.

Dear IAMs,
“They’d be in different agencies but still continue as a group and comeback whenever they want like Shinhwa.” I saw this tweeted many times.

But, no, Shinhwa doesn’t work that way. Shinhwa has a group contract and individual contracts, as well as agreement between their solo agencies (they’ve been doing this since 2007), also commitment between members that they would rotate solo and group activity. Consistently. Each year they would have a meeting to make one-year-plan, when they would hv group and solo activity. There’s no “someday” or “when time or circumstance permits”.

2AM_1415165711_af_org

Dear 2AM members,
I do hope you’d be back for real..in whatever forms, someday… Though looking at your circumstances, I don’t even dare to hope 2AM would be still active consistently as a group ㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠ

Thank goodness you guys are under JYPE, so future albums “someday” are highly possible as JYPE won’t trip you off with trademark stuffs😄

I believe you’d stay close and support each other too ^^~

Thank you for these wonderful 5 years ❤❤❤❤ Thank you for the wonderful songs you’ve been presenting ❤❤❤❤ 이노래 and 친구 의 고백  are still my most favorite ballads of all time ㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠ

I will watch over your next steps……and still wait expectantly for your “someday”…

Until we meet again.
OT4 forever ❤
ㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠ

I remember tearing up at the concert during this song ;A;

Posted in: 2AM | Tagged:

Leave a Reply

